The Capture of Parnassus

Music at the court of the Holy Roman Empire in the 17th century


Echo du Danube (Austria)
Rainer Johannsen – dulcian
Christian Zincke – artistic director

Thursday 19 July 2007, 7.30 pm
Congress Hall of the Czech National Bank

Senovážné náměstí 30, Praha 1


This Austrian ensemble chose a dramaturgically uniform yet vivid programme. Its homogenity lied in its single source: a collection published by Jacob Ludwig (1623-1698) in 1662 whilst he was court musician in Gota. The so-called ‘Ludwig Book of Scores’ consists of approximately one hundred instrumental compositions by Ludwig’s contemporaries from the area which forms present day Germany and Austria, compiled as a birthday present for Ludwig’s former employer in Wolfenbüttel. This rich potpourri of sonatas, chaconnes, as well as dances originated from the works of such masters as Samuel Capricornus, Antonio Bertali, Johann Jacob Froberger, Johann Heinrich Schmelzer and others.